View Single Post
Old 03-01-2010, 04:59 PM

Unhappy Prodisc L4/L5 TDR HELP!!!

I am new to ISPINE.ORG and wanted to take a few minutes to introduce my self and give a somewhat brief overview of my life changing injury that has left me in horrible pain…each and every day….every passing moment of every hour. In February 2007 I was working for the Federal Government and without going into all the boring details I will cut straight to the point. I fell 27 feet and though I am lucky to be alive my horrible nightmare of pain started the day I had this horrific fall. I was left paralyzed in my legs for a little while after the fall but when paramedics arrived they were able to straighten me out which helped me to regain feeling and control over my legs. I injured T6/T7 protruding 3mm into my spinal canal, T11/12, and the worst was L4/L5. I tried all of the non-surgical treatments that the doctors would authorize (PT, LSI and Facet injections, TENS, etc..) . Ultimately I went through surgery to remove the L4/L5 disc and in its’ place they used the Prodisc TDR (Total Disc Replacement). Up until I had the surgery I was in excruciating pain that traveled down both legs and into my feet. I also experienced the horrible lower back pain and also constant tingling in portions of my feet. Within two days of having the disc replacement surgery my pain had been reduced from a constant 6 to 7 pain scale down to a 3 to 4 pain scale. I did lose a lot of the feeling in my feet and portions of my calves but this is to be expected when you consider the complexity of the nerves at the location where the disc was removed. I was EXTREMELY happy and was in the process of getting my life back. I went through a strenuous work conditioning/hardening program and after just 6 weeks post surgery my surgeon lifted all light duty restrictions and sent me back to full duty without any work/light duty restrictions. Two weeks after the surgery I stopped taking the Oxycodone, Oxycontin, muscle relaxers and