View Single Post
Old 04-08-2013, 05:26 PM

Default surgery/recovery

Hi there and welcome!
Is that the University of William and Mary? If so my brother got his masters there.. I graduated from UVA many moons ago (undergrad).

It sounds as tho you're really pushing your schedule mentally. I haven't had ADR surgery just two discectomies. The first one was a big open one at L5S1 back in '89 and recovery was long but good. 2nd one was a percutaneous discectomy back in '92 and it failed.

From 2003-2006 I had ADR 2 levels (lumbar)and ADR and fusion (hybrid) surgery authorized but never went thru with it because I just couldn't bring myself to do another surgery and I had already retired from working (early at age 47) due to my back probs.

All I can say is each person's surgical experience and recovery is an individual experience so you can be given guidelines in terms of how the surgical recovery should go however you will find it's quite an individual thing.

I like to err on the side of caution when it comes to surgical endeavors (had 2 back surgeries, 2 right knee surgeries, 2 bunionectomies, hammertoe surgeries) and all I can say is giving one's self the appropriate time for recovery is really important.

Having adequate time to recover w/o having to push one's self into too much sitting, walking, standing or whatever when the bod is needing rest and recovery time can make a huge difference in how the recovery goes. Can you even drive safely after a few weeks recovery from C spine ADR? I don't know the answer to this. I have heard that recovery from C spine ADR is easier than Lumbar spine ADR tho I still think things are very individual.

I do wish you all the best with your surgery and hope you will have wonderful results and recover beautifully however just remember you are in this for the long haul. If you don't start a job now it would not be the end of the world.