View Single Post
Old 12-04-2007, 11:26 PM

Default Hipaa

HIPAA is the statute that covers privacy and portability of health insurance. Since the insurance benefits were pretty good on my exwifes plan which I was covered under, I decided to keep and pay the premiums as quality care was important at the time. The laws vary from state to state, but if you exhaust your COBRA benefits, you are considered HIPAA compliant. Keep in mind that I am no insurance expert, just from current research into my own situation. As long as my current plan that I have doesn't offer a conversion plan (I have a call in to the administrator), the Georgia state insurance commission will help me find a plan and I will not have a an exclusion clauses. They have a name for the process but I can't remember what it is called. Having the number of treatments I had over the years, I imagine I'm in some database and the insurance folks would love to keep me off their rosters.

I had a facet injection a long time ago and it didn't help but the epidural did. I haven't had any other kind of diagnostic procedure other than the discogram. I'd be willing to do an EMG if the surgeon would order it but he seems content to see how I am doing in another 3 months. If I can obtain coverage, I'll feel better about keeping it in for a while longer. At the moment, I'm feeling decent but am tired of all the up and downs.