View Single Post
Old 05-08-2008, 12:24 PM

Default Plateau

In dealing with my own spine issues, I am always struggling with the amount of activity that is healthy and promotes good spinal health. I was a competitive powerlifter and firefighter challenge (competition) participant for years, then became a competitive cyclist and triathlete...before my back said enough.

I have thought a lot about this as I have been going through the experiences associated with a spine injury, and through the research I have done/ observed others doing the same. I would think that a low tolerance for pain truly works against the spine patient. See if my logic make sense:

Injury takes place - Structures are compromised

Patient guards against pain or concern of future injury - Supporting structures become increasingly weakened, putting more stress on already compromised structures, resulting in more pain/weakness/dysfunction/degeneration.