Go Back   ISPINE.ORG Forum > Main forums > iSpine
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

iSpine Discuss Keel slot process in the Main forums forums; mark please explain the keel slot cutting process. from my understanding they are cut at the same time or before ...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-23-2006, 10:47 AM

Default Keel slot process

mark
please explain the keel slot cutting process. from my understanding they are cut at the same time or before the fixture is removed?
thanks
chuck
Old 09-23-2006, 02:52 PM
Administrator

Chuck, I'll just address lumbar discs that I've seen implanted with a keel (ProDisc, MobiDisc, Activ-L, Kineflex). The procedures are strikingly similar, yet there are also substantial differences. With some of these devices I've only seen a few surgeries (Kineflex = 1), so I'll keep the discussion quite general. My understanding may not be fully baked. Also, here is the obligatory "I'm not a doctor and I may be completely wrong" statement.

After the level is exposed, a window is cut into the anterior ligament and annulus. The disc space mobilized and evacuated, then disctracted more, cleaned out more. Posterior decompression and cleanup is done as needed. (removal of osteophytes, remnants of old protrusions, etc...) Endplates are prepared - cartilagenous material moved. They expose bleeding bone to enhance integration.

Using flouroscopy, the midline is determined and marked. Trial implants (like blank prostheses) are inserted to verify proper sizing, angles, fit, etc... Once they have the proper fit, they are ready to make the cut. The keel cutter is a big chisel. It's very sharp and goes through the bone quite easily. The instrumentation varies greatly from one device to another. Remember that once the keel cut is done, it's done. There is no relocating it.