Go Back   ISPINE.ORG Forum > Main forums > iSpine
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

iSpine Discuss Question about cervical MRI images in the Main forums forums; Are cervical transverse views oriented the same as the lumbar - left side of image is right side of body? I'...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-22-2008, 04:42 AM

Question Question about cervical MRI images

Are cervical transverse views oriented the same as the lumbar - left side of image is right side of body?

I've got this new MRI imaging and there's no scout views. What's with that?

2003 L5S1 Charite
1981 L5S1 Discectomy
Old 10-22-2008, 02:47 PM
Administrator

Jim,

Looking over MANY MRI's, I alway see that the axial images (view from top) are flipped and L side is R.

Sagittal images (views from side) are USUALLY scanned L to R, but I have seen some MRI's with the scan done R to L.

It really sucks when there is no scout image printed. IMH(I'm not a doctor)O, the lack of scout views is just laziness on the part of the person who printed them. The printing process lets them arrange the images for output. You might take the slides back to the imaging center and insist that they print a set with scout images.

Mark
2002 L4-S1 Charite' ADR - SUCCESS!
2009 C3-C4, C5-C6-C7, T1-T2 ProDisc-C Nova
Summer 2009, more bad thoracic discs!
Life After Surgery Website
President: Global Patient Network, Inc.
Founder: www.iSpine.org
Old 10-25-2008, 05:47 AM

Thanks Mark. I only have a CD, no films. I called the radiology lab. They said the scout images can be displayed if I play around with the CD software.

Here's portions of the radiologist's report. What little I understand seems to correlate with the various components of pain I experience. For all of you cervies, please comment if something jumps out at you.