Go Back   ISPINE.ORG Forum > Main forums > iSpine
FAQ Members List Calendar Today's Posts

iSpine Discuss Functional Anaesthetic Discography: 1 failure case. in the Main forums forums; I have recently been involved in a case that might have turned out differently if a different approach to the ...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-23-2009, 04:34 PM
Administrator

Default Functional Anaesthetic Discography: 1 failure case.

I have recently been involved in a case that might have turned out differently if a different approach to the diagnostic process had been used. Please note that this is just my opinion, based on what I know about this one case. I'm not a doctor and don't play one on TV. Take everything I say with a grain of salt.

I understand the value of FAD and the limitations of traditional provocative discography. I do believe that there is much room for improvement in this process and that evaluating cases like these will help us to avoid mistakes in the future.

The case in question started off with discectomy at L3-4, followed by SUCCESSFUL ADR at L3-4. Lumbar symptoms were largely resolved by the surgery, but as the months and years wore on, substantial lumbar symptoms returned, presumably from the moderately degenerated L5-S1 and possibly the less severely degenerated L4-5.

Functional Anaesthetic discography was performed as follows:
1. Inject local anesthesia into L4-5 and wait 30 minutes for the outcome.
2. After little of no effect @ 4-5, an injection into L5-S1 was done, generating dramatic pain relief.