Go Back   ISPINE.ORG Forum > Main forums > iSpine
FAQ Members List Calendar Today's Posts

iSpine Discuss ADR & Fusion help in the Main forums forums; Hi all I'm a newbie from Brisbane in Australia. I have issues with my two lowest discs. I have ...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-02-2014, 07:13 AM

Default ADR & Fusion help

Hi all
I'm a newbie from Brisbane in Australia. I have issues with my two lowest discs. I have pain across lower back . I cannot run anymore and walking is difficult at times. I am 50 with two young children. I have been told fusion at L 5/S1 and disc replacement above. My questions are will I be able to return to a healthy life running , cycling and how long after surgery would this be expected if at all
Old 03-04-2014, 03:30 AM

I feel your pain . i was an obsessive runner until 2008. I am still missing it so much.

About you, what is your doctor saying? If all goes well i would think you could return to normal activity in about 4 months, just a huge guess from a patient like you. I have had 11 spinal surgeries and i am trying to remember how long i had to stop my activity after surgery. It is not coming to me. Maybe 6 months, i guess your doctor is the best one to answer that one.
I have a surgeon that loves to see his patients very active so he always released me to exercise earlier than i had read. I was happy with him.

good luck and i hope some others answer you
Judy

2007 ACDF 4-7
2008 hip , knee scope, hip replacement
2009 thoracic T-5 thru T-11fusion
2009 VATS T7-8, posterior only T11-12. removal of thoracic hard wear
2010 lung surgery
2010 T2-L2 kyphosis correction
2010 Kyphoplasty T-3, T-4
2011 Cervical osteotomy ,revision C4-T5
2011 Foot surgery
2011 Revision fusion T7 thru L4/laminectomy
2012 Hammertoe correction left foot
2012 Revision fusion T-12 thru L5
2012 Revision fusion L4-L5
Old 03-04-2014, 08:06 AM

Default re return to your post op activities