Go Back   ISPINE.ORG Forum > Main forums > iSpine
FAQ Members List Calendar Today's Posts

iSpine Discuss need advice in the Main forums forums; Hi! I am new to this and I am looking for help, I was involved in a MVA in May ...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-23-2008, 02:35 AM

Default need advice

Hi! I am new to this and I am looking for help, I was involved in a MVA in May 2004 and 3 months later had a double fusion at C5-6,C6-7 with a cage, afterwards I had maybe 6 months of relief, I went back to my NS and he stated that I would just have to live with it, well at the time I was 31, now I am 35 and still living with it, i have went to another NS, and he stated that I have perm damage and later I will need another surgery due to the now issues above and below the fusion, he has sent me to a PM and I love him, but the epi's are not working and the trigger points work for 4 days only on headache. We are talking about the nuerostim implant and till I get that, facet shots instead of epi. The isssue with pain meds is that I have a low tolerance and have a hard time taking anything, so I live on tylenol and aleve, with no help, not sure where to go from here and if i should try the stimulator, I have researched the info online but have not talked to anyone who has it, I need relief, please if anyone has this and has advice please let me know
Old 04-23-2008, 04:10 PM

Default how about..

Are there other options you might want to check out before a neurostimulator? Other opinions perhaps even if abroad? Are you possibly a candidate for an ADR above/below your fusion levels?

Last edited by Maria; 04-23-2008 at 04:13 PM.
Old 04-24-2008, 12:02 AM
Administrator

why are they saying to go straight for the stimulator? what happened to fusion? For me, I'd still prefer ADR if I'm a candidate, but I would think that a stimulator would be close to the last choice... not the first???

Mark
2002 L4-S1 Charite' ADR - SUCCESS!
2009 C3-C4, C5-C6-C7, T1-T2 ProDisc-C Nova