Go Back   ISPINE.ORG Forum > Main forums > iSpine
FAQ Members List Calendar Today's Posts

iSpine Discuss Pain that burns? in the Main forums forums; I'm not new to backpain but I'm new to cervical pain. For the first time last night I ...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-20-2008, 09:47 PM

Default Pain that burns?

I'm not new to backpain but I'm new to cervical pain. For the first time last night I would describe the pain down the back of my neck as burning. Until that I would've described it as bone pain just like in my low back.

I had an MRI this morning and meet with the doctor next Thursday for the results so I suppose I'll find out more than.

I just figured I'd see what ya'll out there know about burning pain.

Cheryl
2 level Prodisc ADR L4-S1, Feb. 18, 2008 Dr. Bertagnoli - Straubing, Germany - SUCCESS -

Now I struggle with Neck Pain likely c5-7
PT, injections, rhizotomy.......MRI and CT Myleo not consistent with pain symptoms, waiting that out, keeping my passport valid
Old 05-20-2008, 10:03 PM

Send a message via AIM to Lil E
Default Your pain...

is likely nerve pain. It can be from a feeling like ants are walking on you to the burn type. There are two meds for this, one is Neurontin , which I have not heard good things about or Lyrica which I use at 25mg the lowest dose. Some people have no problem, others do. Most docs start out with too high a dose, it needs to be titrated, slowly increased.

Methadone also works well for nerve pain if you can take it.
Old 05-22-2008, 05:09 PM

Default re burning pain

I've long had personal experience with burning pain. It used to be just in the lumbar area where my disc bulges were/are and after a failed surgery it became something that was all down my lower extremities (from about waist down) and lasted 5 miserable years.