Go Back   ISPINE.ORG Forum > Main forums > iSpine
FAQ Members List Calendar Today's Posts

iSpine Discuss New here - Introduction in the Main forums forums; Well, I followed others over here from the other place, although I had only been there for about a month. ...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-18-2009, 05:20 PM

Default New here - Introduction

Well, I followed others over here from the other place, although I had only been there for about a month. I believe you can never belong to too many forums. I hope that I can learn from those here, and contribute where I can. I was most impressed by the articles and abstracts section, as I am a scientist. I have already found several good articles.

An introduction.
My name is Cathy, and I’m 46 years old. I have hereditary lumbar DDD. I say that because both my mother and sister also have lower back problems. I always considered myself the lucky one, since I had never had an episode of acute back pain that kept me off my feet, whereas they both have. My pain has always been intermittent, coming and going since about 1993 or so (I can’t remember exactly the date when I first had pain while shoveling snow), but I have always been able to get around and take care of myself during the pain. But about two years ago the pain started again, and it hasn’t let up.

MRI results (Dec 2007):

-Transitional anatomy – S1 is partially lumbarized (meaning it isn’t fully fused).
- Minimal levoconvex curvature, apex to the left at the L5 level. Both alignment and height of the lumbar vertebrae is well maintained.
- L1-2, L2-3, L3-4 Normal disc contour, without canal, lateral recess, nor foraminal stenosis.