Go Back   ISPINE.ORG Forum > Main forums > iSpine
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

iSpine Discuss Frustrated, in pain, running out of options. in the Main forums forums; Hello fellas: I'm a 32 y/o firefighter who's been battling with DDD to my lumbar spine for ...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-28-2013, 01:54 PM

Default Frustrated, in pain, running out of options.

Hello fellas:

I'm a 32 y/o firefighter who's been battling with DDD to my lumbar spine for about 8 years after an on the job injury. As of the last 21/2 -3 years ive develop severe discogenic pain. Thankfully not sciatic pain unless I spend a long time sitting which I can never do bc sitting over 20 mins with the back pain I'm experiencing is a big no no. I have herniations and annular tears on L4 thru S1. Had a discogram to confirm it and it was positive. my L2-L3 is also showing sings of DDD.

With that said I went to a very prestigious Dr in Miami (I'm located there) and he recommended a MI TLIF to L4-S1. I'm telling you right now. Not gonna happen I refuse. This would mean I can't be a firefighter any more besides affecting my activities which I have not performed in over two years anyways but had the hope that some day thru the advances of medicine(joke right) I'd be able to do. ( as far as I know there's no issues with my facet joints and my bone density should be fine)