Go Back   ISPINE.ORG Forum > Main forums > iSpine
FAQ Members List Calendar Today's Posts

iSpine Discuss I don't know who to see, what to do, where to go for answers? in the Main forums forums; Hello, I am a 35 yr old male. I have never had any real back before other than muscle soreness.... ...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
Old 02-24-2009, 12:13 AM

Default I don't know who to see, what to do, where to go for answers?

Hello,
I am a 35 yr old male. I have never had any real back before other than muscle soreness.... until last year, about October. I am a helicopter mechanic by trade and had times when I "over did it" a bit and had a week or so of back pain, but nothing that ever lasted long. I changed occupations last August, from a mechanic to an instructor. Well about October I started having lower back problems. I am not sure what caused it. There was one weekend when I "over did it" again chopping wood and had some trouble the following week. The other thing that has happened with my new job is that I now spend 4-5 hours a day sitting behind a computer. Well, I started to get this weird back ache that was in my right side. It slowly got worse and started shooting through my right leg into my calf. I went to the chiropractor.Nothing he did offered any relief. My primary care physician only prescribed pills. I think it was a steroid and some pain pills. The pain pills helped slightly, but thing got worse. I stated seeing a physical therapist. No real results. I tried inversion tables. There was temporary relief, until one night I almost became paralyzed! I don't know what I did wrong, but after about twenty minutes of 45 degree incline, I could not stand. I just fell to the floor and slowly and painfully crawled to the bedroom. After two days, I was back to "normal". I cannot stand straight up, cannot bend over, I walk with a limp, and cannot sleep very well. I am tired all the time.