Go Back   ISPINE.ORG Forum > Main forums > iSpine
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

iSpine Discuss **NEW** MRI Question in the Main forums forums; Hi there, I am new to this whole "back pain" world!! I am happy to have found this ...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-21-2009, 10:22 PM

Default **NEW** MRI Question

Hi there,

I am new to this whole "back pain" world!! I am happy to have found this site especially today!!

I just got home from an MRI appointment. I hurt my back in January after falling on ice. I don't know how people do this EVERYDAY!!! I can't STAND the pain that I am feeling, it KILLS!!

Anyways, I just have one simple question....

Is it normal for me to be in SO MUCH PAIN after an MRI? I understand the pain I had during the MRI and having to lay there for 30 minutes and not being allowed to move, BUT OMG!!! I am in SERIOUS UNRELENTING pain at the moment, any movement catches me and sends a shock through my low back and down my left leg. I think I am almost worse now than when I went in, since I have never been through this before I am just hoping that maybe someone could fill in the blanks for me.

THANKS!!
NeNe
Old 03-21-2009, 10:41 PM

I'm not sure why you're in so much pain after the MRI. You may have been put in an awkward position that aggrevated your injury, and you have to be totally still for those (cramping type of pain?).

I was on pain meds for all of mine except the Myleogram and slept through them except when they paused to inject the contrast solution, then it was back to sleep.

I'm sorry to hear you're in so much pain. I'm also glad you found this site. There's a lot of experience here to help you through your journey.

Bob
04/07 Recurrent Disc Surgery L5/S1
3 Ortho and 1 Neuro Surgeon, 3 MRIs, 1 EGM, 1 Myleogram & 11 EDIs later:
03/27/09 Maverick ADR at L4/L5 & L5/S1
03/27/09 The Lord and Dr. Ritter-Lang returned my life to me.
Old 03-22-2009, 12:23 AM

Default new one on me...unless