Go Back   ISPINE.ORG Forum > Main forums > iSpine
FAQ Members List Calendar Today's Posts

iSpine Discuss ALPA Approach or XLIF? in the Main forums forums; I had a wonderful surprise yesterday. I got a message from Dr. Bertagnoli saying that he was going to be ...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-09-2008, 08:05 AM
Administrator

Default ALPA Approach or XLIF?

I had a wonderful surprise yesterday. I got a message from Dr. Bertagnoli saying that he was going to be a LAX for a 5 hour layover on his way back from the MIIST conference in Hawaii. 4 hours of his undivided attention is tough to come by... there was no problem canceling other plans (was going to see David Beckham play for LA Galaxy... 5 goal game... would have been fun, but this was better!) So instead of Dr. Bertagnoli sitting in the airport for 5 hours, I picked him up and we had a wonderful afternoon and evening. (Manhattan Beach is great!)

This post comes along with all the standard "I'm not a doctor" disclaimers. I'm just posting my layperson's recollection of our conversations. Take everything I say with a grain of salt.

Unfortunately, several of my clients are dealing with ADR revisions. I asked him a question about the XLIF approach. He corrected me... XLIF is not an approach, it's the name of some devices and is frequently used in describing systems that support the ALPA (AnteroLateral transPsoas) Approach. I didn't realize it when we were speaking, but I've seen him do it. It was truly one of the most amazing surgeries I've seen... not because of the lateral approach step, but this was a very extreme case. The ALPA approach seemed so easy, it was a very small part of this procedure. Even so... I think you'll find Ken's story is VERY interesting.